Climate Laboratory wins Zurich Climate Award

A shining moment for the Climate Laboratory. The myclimate educational team's most "senior" project impressed the judges' panel of the Zurich Climate Award. The project for trainees and apprentices was recognised with one of the coveted awards.

Zurich Klimapreis 2014, Climate Laboratory, education

On the stage at the 2014 Zurich Climate Award ceremony: Roland Betschart, CSR (Zurich Insurance); René Estermann, CEO; Carol Muggli; Basil Gantenbein, Project Manager (all from myclimate); Joachim Masur, CEO Switzerland and Tobias Billeter (both Zurich)

The award in the "Production and Consumerism" category recognised what is now seven years of successful climate education throughout Switzerland. It also carried a purse of 10,000 francs, which the project team was pleased to accept. The Climate Laboratory vied with a broad selection of entrants to win the award.

A total of 108 projects from across Switzerland were submitted. That sets a new record for the Zurich Climate Award. "It is great that the judges' panel has recognised our many years of dedication," said myclimate project manager Basil Gantenbein with evident pleasure. "The Climate Laboratory has proven to be an action-orientated product, one that our partners from training institutions and vocational schools affirm time and again."

The Climate Laboratory focuses on “energy and climate in vocational education.” It is a project competition for apprentices at vocational schools and training institutions. It combines youthful creativity and commitment with well-founded knowledge about the environment, energy, and the climate. Every year, the Climate Laboratory rewards concrete projects implemented by the participants. In the past year alone, 125 such projects were submitted.

The Zurich Climate Award, which is worth 150,000 francs, honours projects that make a contribution to climate protection. The selection panel headed by ETH Professor René Schwarzenbach confers three main awards and four special awards. The 2014 winners were announced on 26 November at the Umwelt Arena in Spreitenbach.

Have a look at the project video of the awards ceremony here!

Stay informed!